PAK vs BAN: Shadab Khan breaks silence on Shakib Al Hasan’s controversial LBW dismissal

Share Post Via:

PAK vs BAN: Shadab Khan breaks silence on Shakib Al Hasan’s controversial LBW dismissal

Babar Azam-led Pakistan won their last Group 2 Super 12 stage contest in the T20 World Cup 2022 to qualify for semi-finals. Needless to say, Pakistan were empowered by South Africa’s loss to Netherlands which shocked the entire cricketing fraternity. Coming back to Pakistan’s brilliant win over Bangladesh, they did it with five wickets remaining. Yet again, it is their bowlers who stepped up and guided Pakistan to a brilliant win.

However, Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan became a victim of a controversial decision by the third umpire in the ongoing Pakistan versus Bangladesh game at the Adelaide Oval. The incident set social media on fire, with experts and fans coming out in support of the Bangladesh skipper, stating Shakib was a sufferer in the LBW dismissal. It all happened during the 11th over of Bangladesh innings bowled by all-rounder Shadab Khan.

Shakib was adjudged Leg Before Wicket (LBW) by the umpire although the replys showed a massive spike after the bat hit the ground. Despite reviewing the umpire’s decision, Shakib received no help from the third umpire as the Bangladesh captain took the long way back to the pavilion in the 11th over. Shakib’s dismissal in the virtual quarter-final has courted a fresh controversy at the T20 World Cup.

Umpires Gave It Out, So It’s Out – Shadab Khan

Speaking to the official broadcaster of the T20 World Cup on Sunday, When asked about Shakib’s dismissal, Pakistan vice-captain Shadab Khan made a fairly harsh remark, suggesting that the Bangladesh captain was out because the umpire gave him out.

So far so good. Bowlers have done their job. We assessed the conditions well. Hopefully, batters do the same. Slower ones (are effective) for fast bowlers, and if you bowl slow as a spinner you will also get help.

“Umpires gave it out, so it’s out (Shakib decision). We have world-class openers. Babar hasn’t performed well but he’s a big match player, Shadab said in a chat with the broadcaster during the innings break.

Former India head coach Ravi Shastri, who is one of the tournament commentators in Australia, shared his opinions on the issue.

“Which (the shadow) suggests the bat was in the air and there is a spike, so that ball has to hit the bat and nothing else. But, I think he will be a little disappointed, that it really turned the entire momentum of the game. Big player, big wicket, knockout game and when your captain is dismissed in that fashion, it has a bearing on the dugout,” Shastri said during the innings break.

Aakash Chopra reacts to Shakib Al Hasan’s controversial LBW dismissal

Meanwhile, cricket fans on social media unleashed heavy criticism of the Pakistan team, expressing their

disappointment. At the same time, prominent cricket figures like former India opener Aakash Chopra also felt Shakib was not out. Chopra took to his official Twitter handle and mentioned that the bat’s shadow suggested the bat didn’t touch the ground.

“Shakib’s bat didn’t touch the ground at all. Just focus on bat’s shadow. There was a spike. It couldn’t have been anything else except the ball hitting the bat. Bangladesh at the receiving end of a poor umpiring decision. #PakvBan #T20WorldCup,” Chopra tweeted.

For Breaking News and Live News Updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Subscribe us on Telegram and never miss a update!